About Delaware County

Delaware County, presently consisting of over 184 square miles divided into forty-nine municipalities is the oldest settled section of Pennsylvania. The first major settlement occurred under Swedish rule by Governor Johan Printz who in 1643 established the first court, school, church and governmental offices on Tinicum Island. Equitable treatment of the Lenni Lenape Indians helped the European settlements to thrive and both races continued to farm on the banks of the Delaware.

The Delaware River Settlements after a brief period fell under the jurisdiction of England's Duke of York. Twenty years later in 1681, King Charles II granted rights for a proprietary colony to William Penn which led to the founding of the Province of Pennsylvania under Penn's control. The city where Penn first landed during 1682 in Pennsylvania is home of the oldest public building in the United States, The Old Chester Court House in Chester.

In Chester, the General Assembly of Pennsylvania met with Penn and on December 7, 1682 the Assembly adopted Penn's " Great Law of Pennsylvania." The document granted the right to vote, citizenship, freedom of religion and trial by jury to all settlers. William Penn had implemented a form of government which established Pennsylvania as a haven for the oppressed of all nations, emphasizing religious freedom, fair treatment of Indians and minorities with a democratic government. Major developments had began. Early settlements were at Marcus Hook, Upland/Chester, Tinicum and Darby.

Map of Delaware County

For more of the history of Delaware County, check out this article from Delaware County.


 Please note that information found in these articles has been written by others and provided to DCHS.

Aldan Borough Aston Township
Bethel Township  Brookhaven Borough
Chadds Ford Township Chester City
Chester Heights Borough Chester Township
Clifton Heights Borough Collingdale Borough
Colwyn Borough Concord Township
Darby Borough Darby Township
East Lansdowne Borough Eddystone Borough
Edgmont Township Folcroft Borough
Glenolden Borough Haverford Township 
Lansdowne Borough  Lower Chichester Township 
Marcus Hook Borough  Marple Township
Media Borough Middletown Township
Millbourne Borough  Morton Borough
Nether Providence Township  Newtown Township
Norwood Borough  Parkside Borough 
Prospect Park Borough  Radnor Township 
Ridley Park Borough  Ridley Township
Rose Valley Borough  Rutledge Borough 
Sharon Hill Borough  Springfield Township 
Swarthmore Borough Thornbury Township 
Tinicum Township  Trainer Borough 
Upland Borough  Upper Chichester Township
Upper Darby Township  Upper Providence Township 
Yeadon Borough

Comments are closed